Mark Lautens , O.C.

University Professor
J. Bryan Jones Distinguished Professor (2013-2023)
AstraZeneca Professor of Organic Chemistry
NSERC/Merck-Frosst Industrial Research Chair (2003-2013)

Department of Chemistry
Davenport Chemical Laboratories
80 St. George St.
University of Toronto
Toronto, Ontario
M5S 3H6

Tel: (416) 978-6083
Fax: (416) 946-8185

Funding and Research Support

Curriculum Vitae


Place and Date of Birth Hamilton, Ontario, Canada July 9, 1959


Harvard University NSERC PDF with D. A. Evans 1985 - 1987
University of Wisconsin-Madison Ph.D. with B. M. Trost 1985
University of Guelph B.Sc. - Distinction 1981

Academic Positions

J. Bryan Jones Distinguished Professor University of Toronto 2013 - 2023
University Professor University of Toronto 2012 - present
NSERC/Merck Frosst Industrial Research Chair NSERC/Merck Frosst 2003 - 2013
AstraZeneca Professor of Organic Synthesis University of Toronto 1998 - present
Professor University of Toronto 1995 - 1998
Associate Professor University of Toronto 1992 - 1995
Assistant Professor University of Toronto 1987 - 1992

Awards & Honours

H.C. Brown Award American Chemical Society 2020
Alumni of Honour University of Guelph AA 2020
E.W.R Steacie Award Canadian Society for Chemistry 2020
Senior Fellow Massey College 2019
Henry Marshall Tory Award Royal Society of Canada 2017
J.J. Berry Smith Doctoral Supervision Award SGS University of Toronto 2017
Chair d’Excellence ENSICAEN 2017 - 2018
Doctor of Science, honoris causa University of Guelph 2016
University of Toronto Alumni Faculty Award University of Toronto 2016
CIC Catalysis Award CSC 2016
Officer of the Order of Canada Governor General 2014
Killam Research Fellowship Canada Council for the Arts 2013 - 2015
CIC Medal Chemical Institute of Canada 2013
Fellow of the Royal Society of UK Royal Society of Chemistry 2011
Pedler Award Royal Society of Chemistry 2011
Senior Scientist Award Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
Berlin, Aachen and Gottingen
2009 - 2014
Visiting Professor University of Berlin 2009
Visiting Professor Université de Marseilles 2008
ICIQ Summer School ICIQ Tarragona, Spain 2008
Attilio Corbella Summer School Professor Italian Chemical Society 2007
Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award American Chemical Society 2006
Alfred Bader Award Canadian Society for Chemistry 2006
R. U. Lemieux Award Canadian Society for Chemistry 2004
Solvias Prize Solvias AG 2002
Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada Royal Society of Canada 2001

Areas of Research Interest and Expertise

  • new synthetic methods
  • metal catalyzed cycloaddition and annulation reactions
  • asymmetric catalysis with focus on rhodium, nickel and palladium catalysts
  • cyclopropane synthesis and reactions
  • hydrometallation reactions
  • reactions of organosilicon and organotin compounds
  • fragmentation reactions
  • new routes to medicinally/biologically interesting compounds
  • heterocycle synthesis using metal catalysts